hardasebo.blogg.se

Ai yori aoshi episode 6 english dub
Ai yori aoshi episode 6 english dub




ai yori aoshi episode 6 english dub

I thought one of the challenges facing foreigners was that you couldn’t refer to someone without knowing what honorific you needed. I checked the subtitles and listened as well as I could to the Japanese voices, and I’m pretty sure she does indeed leave off honorifics, at least sometimes. Tina also leaves off honorifics entirely. The accent is a bit heavy-handed, and the way it’s played it makes her sound a bit unsophisticated, which might be how an American accent would sound to people in upper-class Japan. At least it’s consistant throughout, though.įor Tina’s character, they simulated the effect of her American accent by having her speak in a southern (Dixie) accent for the dub. Sempai (sp?) is translated for certain combinations of characters and not for others. I can’t tell why some honorifics were translated and some were preserved. None of my friends ever seemed to use formal speech or perhaps like that girl I was just oblivious. At least for me when I was over there as an exchange student, I found all the formal stuff I learned in school pretty useless. In turn, Miyabi calls them “Sir Kaoru” and “Lady Aoi” instead of Kaoru-dono and Aoi-sama. 6 thoughts on Ai Yori Aoshi: English Dub Scott says: Thursday at 9:12 pm. However, they call Miyabi “Miss Miyabi”, a translation of Miyabi-san. Even in English Kaoru and Aoi call each other Kaoru-sama and Aoi-chan. I’m betting that due to their traditionalist upbringing, Kaoru and Aoi have strong accents that I could hear if I had Japanese ears.Īnother interesting note is that unlike most dubs, they preserved a great many of the honorifics. Now I have a new theory: I think they speak this way in an attempt to re-create the very formal speaking style of the characters. However, their delivery seems stiff even when the character speaking isn’t onscreen. (Their speach is a bit like that of the character Data in Star Trek.) At first I thought this was due to the difficulty of matching the dub to the original mouth movements. Their speaking is slow and even, and they never use contractions. Both of them talk in a very formal manner.

Ai yori aoshi episode 6 english dub series#

One of the odd things about this series is the way Kaoru and Aoi act in the English dub.






Ai yori aoshi episode 6 english dub